Sign in to follow this  
ball junkie

Salary Cap Experts! What's the truth with signing Darko and Vince?

First and foremost I am not an expert on all this business mumbo jumbo. Click this link and read this first:

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/sports_magic/2007/02/salary_drive_ca.html

I was always under the impression we could sign both of these guys. Here's a quote from Brian Schmitz blog:

quote:
Here's the catch:

The Magic can't sign Milicic for a high number --- and still hope to land a desperately needed scorer. I mean one worth starting.

Is this true? What if Carter agrees to take a cut in pay? What is the maximum amount of yearly pay Darko could make? If Darko gets the maximum is what Schmitz saying true(about only having 4 or 5 million to sign a scorer)? Is this question something that cannot be answered right now because of future adjustments in the "leaguewide" cap?

Understand the Junkie is extremely excited about the prospects of having Vince in Orlando. Various media outlets have already been stating Otis will pursue him this summer.

Can anyone break it down for me?

First and foremost I am not an expert on all this business mumbo jumbo. Click this link and read this first:

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/sports_magic/2007/02/salary_drive_ca.html

I was always under the impression we could sign both of these guys. Here's a quote from Brian Schmitz blog:

quote:
Here's the catch:

The Magic can't sign Milicic for a high number --- and still hope to land a desperately needed scorer. I mean one worth starting.

Is this true? What if Carter agrees to take a cut in pay? What is the maximum amount of yearly pay Darko could make? If Darko gets the maximum is what Schmitz saying true(about only having 4 or 5 million to sign a scorer)? Is this question something that cannot be answered right now because of future adjustments in the "leaguewide" cap?