Sign in to follow this  
ball junkie

Anyone who has ever coached a team sport on any level, "click here".

Actually anybody can click.(lol)

Okay, I have coached off and on for many years. Here's my take as related to what Otis was saying yesterday when he was "pleading" for the Magic players to show more leadership.

In my experience on the many teams I have dealt with I have "always" found that when the best player on my team was also the leader of the team those years coaching were "extremely" successful and easier. By far!

Now, I am a pretty assertive coach. I am definitely not afraid to lead. But honestly, in the years when I had to do "all" the leading those teams seemed to always fall short of expectations.

My feeling is exactly what Otis was saying yesterday. It makes a "huge" difference when one of your peers whom you respect is getting on your butt for not meeting responsibilities to your team on top of what the coach might be saying.

Agree or disagree?

Could this be more of a reason why the Magic have struggled this year? Nobody in uniform to get on somebody's butt? Also, the team will be looking for leaders this summer. You guys know I love Vince. Is he a guy that could lead this team?

I'm ready to debate.(lol)

Actually anybody can click.(lol)

Okay, I have coached off and on for many years. Here's my take as related to what Otis was saying yesterday when he was "pleading" for the Magic players to show more leadership.

In my experience on the many teams I have dealt with I have "always" found that when the best player on my team was also the leader of the team those years coaching were "extremely" successful and easier. By far!

Now, I am a pretty assertive coach. I am definitely not afraid to lead. But honestly, in the years when I had to do "all" the leading those teams seemed to always fall short of expectations.