Sign in to follow this  
Erik

Anyone else a manager?

I am a manager at a local Rent-To-Own Company,and have been for about 2 years,the hardes thing in being in managment is managing people,I manage a group of people that I get along with probably to well,and i'm a pretty easy going person,so it's hard to get anyone to do anything when needed to. My employee's think that it's hangout time all the time,and when it's time to do work,all they do is b i t c h and moan about it. I wanna know those anyone else have this problem? Any ideas? P.S. currentley I am at work in my office,and my employees are sitting on a couch on the sales floor watching transformers. Am I to Leaniant?

I am a manager at a local Rent-To-Own Company,and have been for about 2 years,the hardes thing in being in managment is managing people,I manage a group of people that I get along with probably to well,and i'm a pretty easy going person,so it's hard to get anyone to do anything when needed to. My employee's think that it's hangout time all the time,and when it's time to do work,all they do is b i t c h and moan about it. I wanna know those anyone else have this problem? Any ideas? P.S. currentley I am at work in my office,and my employees are sitting on a couch on the sales floor watching transformers. Am I to Leaniant?

This sounds like the plot for "The 40 Year Old Virgin, Part 2."

In all seriousness, there is nothing wrong with having a relaxed atmosphere and there is nothing wrong with being a "buddy boss."

The problem is when "buddy boss" becomes "pushover boss."

Generally, fun should occur AFTER work is done. You may need to make an example of someone, or at least hold a meeting and explain to them that having fun at work is preferable, providing that work is actually getting done. If the work is suffering, then changes should be made. These changes don't have to be personnel changes, but they should be procedural changes.